Because we love Windows errors

I installed a new webcam on my computer two weeks ago and today I got my 4th BSoD. Yes, for all the Windows users out there that would be our dear friend, the “Blue Screen of Death.”

Oh dear.

Oh dear.

I’m currently still using XP since I never made the switch to Vista (which has its ups and downs, but mostly ups) and I never had to deal with the BSoD until recently. Amazingly, my encounters with this problem have been sparing throughout my years using Windows – though I’ve heard the horror stories. Hence, you can understand my utter confusion when my system kept crashing and this pesky error kept popping up all the time, all of a sudden.

Initially I took the easy (or lazy) route and resorted to restarting my computer every time as a temporary fix. A friend mentioned that the problem probably had  something to do with my webcam installation but I was too busy (really too lazy) and didn’t take time to troubleshoot the issue. That is until I was working on a report late one night and my computer crashed. Again. And I saw the BSoD. Again.

And all I thought was: “Oh Dear. I really hope I didn’t save too long ago,”… and… “Microsoft, thou art a heartless friend.”

Yes, the error resulted from an improper driver installation so I needed to uninstall it completely and find an updated version to install. But now that it’s done and over with, I don’t anticipate seeing the BSoD soon.

[Note: Some people think that BSoD doesn’t exist in Vista, but unfortunately, they do. Though Microsoft put a lot of work into Vista to make sure that the this OS attempts to fix critical errors and glitches itself with no interruptions to the user, sometimes Vista is unable to recover on its own and inevitably crashes. Usually the default is that Vista will reboot itself immediately after briefly flashing the blue screen. You’ll miss it if you’re not looking – lucky Vista users – but typically an error message will still greet you once your system restarts. There’s an option to “Check for solution” but it’s really a crap shoot on whether Vista solves the problem or not.]

This whole predicament took me on a trip down memory lane and reminded me of time-tested and true Windows errors that often sneak up on the unsuspecting user. The following are 3 classic and frustrating Windows error messages – perhaps not quite as bad as the BSoD – but still not pleasant. It’s times like the below when we wonder if all those error reports submitted make a difference at all.

#1. Fatal Exception OE Error Message

These happen when codes are returned by a program because: 1) access to an illegal instruction has been encountered, 2) invalid data or code has been accessed, or 3) the privilege level of an operation is invalid. Basically the processor returns an exception to the OS which is interpreted as a fatal exception error message. The solution? Restart your computer.

#2. Invalid Page Fault Error Message

Occurs when an invalid parameter causes a program to run invalid instructions which results in an invalid page fault – of course. Invalid instructions to your OS usually occurs when your virtual memory is unstable or damaged, or if a program is attempting to access data that is being modified by another program.

#3. Windows Protection Error Message

These pop up when your computer attempts to load or unload a virtual device driver (VxD). Basically there’s a problem with your device driver. Troubleshoot and it should be relatively easy to find the cause of the error message.

With Windows publicly releasing their completely new OS soon, perhaps errors like these will only be memories. In the meantime, enjoy this funny parody of Windows glitches in the context of the “Matrix” film. It reminds us why Windows will always have a special place in our hearts:

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Explore posts in the same categories: How to tips, Tech n' giggles

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Because we love Windows errors”

  1. JimmyBean Says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. Gerald Says:

    Awesome video, Vickster! =D


Leave a Reply

